Sangre de Cristo Journal

Following Christ at 9,000 ft

Finally!

Colorado Trip 2012 007

Picture courtesy of my dad

 

My graduation from Sangre de Cristo Seminary was a bittersweet day indeed! Sweet because the culmination of the degree I had started at Southwestern in 1990 was finally completed. Bitter, because after developing wonderful relationships with the three men in this picture, their families, and many others, we had to leave. We loaded up our Penske truck on Tuesday and headed east. As I type this post, we are in Merrillville, Indiana but preparing to go see the Riverwalk in Chicago for the day, then we head to Ohio for one night before going on to Meadville. We’re excited and the drive to accomplish our next goal helps us overlook how tired we are from the miles. Beyond all of that, we do it all for Christ! He is worth it all! That was the theme of my graduation message, “What Really Matters.” When you skim away all the dross of human effort, worldly pleasures, goals and dreams, Christ is the One Who really matters. That was Paul’s perspective, passion and pursuit in Philippians 3:7-14 and it should also be true of us as we follow Him. This will also be the sermon, Lord willing, that I will first preach at St. Paul’s.

September 7, 2012 - Posted by | Christ, Christianity, following Christ, graduation, love of Christ, love of God, Master of Divinity, the gospel, the knowledge of Christ, the love of Christ, the love of God, the love of God's people, the word of God, true worship |

3 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on this honorable achievement!!!

    Comment by intheshadowofplenty12 | September 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Gustavo, we are excited to be in Meadville, Pa.

      Comment by Rev. David P. McAfee | September 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. Dear Dr. Dwight F. Zeller

    Greetings in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ!

    Forgive me of my poor English. I can read texts and understand them, but I don’t use your language on a daily basis.

    My name is Felipe Sabino, I’m Brazilian and I own a Theological Reformed Christian website in Portuguese language (www.monergismo.com and http://www.monergismo.net.br) and a small Publishing House (www.editoramonergismo.com.br).

    Until now, I have published two of Clark’s books: God and Evil and In Defense of Theology.

    Now I want to use a picture of Clark in the forthcoming book. Can you get a picture in good quality to me? The people from Trinity Foundation don’t have any good photo and those available in the web are not so good. I would love to receive a few different pictures of Clark. He is my favorite theologian and I “regret” to be only a child when he dead.

    God bless you!

    Thank you!
    Felipe Sabino

    Comment by Felipe Sabino | October 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

