Sangre de Cristo Journal

Following Christ at 9,000 ft

Called to St. Paul’s

Paula and I are humbled and thankful for God’s lovingkindness, mercy and provision for the opportunity to accept the call to pastor at St. Paul’s in Meadville, PA. Last Sunday, the congregation graciously voted in favor of extending to me the call to be their next pastor. Our plan is to begin the Lord’s work there by September 9th. St. Paul’s Church is a conservative, reformed congregation and as I said in a previous post, we were very impressed with their warmth and felt the presence of Christ in our meeting with them. We now look forward to sharing our lives with them in worship, ministry and fellowship as we serve the King of kings together.

St.Pauls Over the next three months, our task will be to find a place to call home and we are hoping to rent a two or three bedroom house close to the church. I have already thought much about the development of a ministry vision for the church and city. Meadville has great potential to be impacted for the kingdom of God and I look forward to being integrated into the community and fellowshipping with other ministers in the area.
May 22, 2012 - Posted by | Call to ministry, Christian Service, Meadville, Meadville, PA, pastor, St. Paul's Church | ,

4 Comments »

  1. I am so glad that they are a conservative church! I looked at the UCC website and I was a bit concerned with their beliefs.

    Comment by madsgaqvq (@madsgaqvq) | May 26, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, I’m aware of the position of the UCC on the Open and Affirming Statement. I didn’t want to make this statement public on my blog, but St. Paul’s will be leaving the UCC. When I first applied for the position I was told they would be looking to do that after they called a new pastor.

      Comment by Rev. David P. McAfee | May 26, 2012 | Reply

  2. Very pleased that you have accepted the call as the new Pastor of St. Paul’s UCC Church in Meadville,Pa. Look forward to your arrival in Meadville. I/we are available to assist you as you make the transition. God has blessed our church by bringing you and your wife to our community and congregation..

    Comment by Jim H | May 27, 2012 | Reply

    • Thanks Jim. We are so thrilled at the ministry opportunity ahead of us, the people we will get to make a part of our lives and share in theirs, and our new city. I’ll have to start brushing up on my new sports teams as well.

      Comment by Rev. David P. McAfee | May 27, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

